Comprehensive gluten-free candy list (updated may 2018) power outage houston zip code

####

Generally with Hershey’s, you always need to avoid seasonal items such as Cadbury Creme Eggs (both Easter and Halloween versions) and Reese’s pumpkin-shaped candies—even if their ingredients are free of gluten, they likely are manufactured on shared lines or in a shared facility.

Hershey’s says it will list any ingredients containing wheat, barley, rye, oats, and malt on the label, and will disclose shared equipment or shared facilities on the label. Hershey’s gluten-free list also includes baking chips and bars, cocoa products and syrup. Always check the list prior to buying, as items seem to change frequently.

Mars Chocolate makes M&M’s, Dove, Snickers, and other products. The company does not maintain a gluten-free list of products; instead, it urges gluten-free consumers to check labels and promises to call out any wheat, barley, and rye ingredients by name, as well as any cross-contamination risks, on the label.

Even if a product normally is considered gluten-free, in busy times of year (such as Halloween) Mars uses additional alternative facilities to make its candy, and some of those facilities may introduce cross-contamination risks (I’ve seen this occur frequently with flavored M&M varieties). "The ingredient statement on each wrapper is the best source for this information," the company said in a statement. Also note that Mars has been providing conflicting messages to consumers about whether it will call out barley-based ingredients on its labels (as opposed to just wheat).

• M&M’s EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M’s, which contain wheat, and crispy M&M’s, which contain barley malt. Note that some special seasonal and temporary flavors also have a risk of gluten cross-contamination because they’re made on equipment or in facilities that also use gluten-containing ingredients. For example, in 2018 some special flavors available in some stores, such as Mint M&Ms, were labeled "may contain traces of wheat." This has been common over the past three to four years for M&Ms, so you can’t just assume they’re safe any longer. Always check the label!

Note that there’s some controversy over whether Sweetarts should appear on the "not gluten-free" or the "no gluten ingredients" list. Sweetarts contain both maltodextrin and dextrin, which can be made from wheat and barley (although they’re highly processed ingredients that would be rendered legally gluten-free by that processing).

Nestle does not include Sweetarts on the "gluten-free" list but does not provide any additional information on the product beyond the ingredients list, so you’ll need to use your best judgment on whether to consume them. Some people seem to do fine with them, while others do not.

Tootsie Roll Industries, which also makes Charms products, says that, as of 2017, all of the companies confections are considered gluten-free except Andes cookies. "Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process," the company says.

However, Smarties sells its products to different "re-baggers" as well as various retail outlets. Since a re-bagger buys products from many companies and then places them in different packaging, only re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of gluten or other allergens.

"If the UPC number on the packaging begins with ‘0 11206,’ you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities," which means it should be gluten-free," the company says. Smarties Gummies contain no gluten ingredients, but are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat-containing products (along with peanuts, milk and soy).

Although Wrigley’s online gluten-free statement is pretty cagey (saying most products are gluten-free but some might not be, and failing to specify which is which), a statement provided to me by a customer service representative says that all Wrigley products in the U.S. are considered gluten-free except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints (which always have contained the gluten ingredient wheat maltodextrin).

Jelly Belly makes jelly beans in an ever-expanding array of colors and flavors. According to the company, "all Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free, gelatin-free, vegetarian and OU Kosher." This includes licorice-flavored gluten-free Jelly Belly jelly beans (in most cases, licorice candy contains wheat). Jelly Belly also makes gluten-free candy corn for Halloween.

However, other Jelly Belly candies, including Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Bridge Mix, Licorice Bridge Mix, Black Licorice Buttons and Licorice Pastels, are NOT gluten-free. In addition, seasonal mixes sold around the holidays contain the malt balls, and so are not gluten-free.

According to Just Born, all the company’s marshmallow candies that are safe from cross-contamination will state "gluten-free" on the package by the ingredients listing (Note: recently, I’ve run across numerous packages of Peeps that carry this warning: "May contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and wheat." The ones with this warning are usually the more exotic flavors. Definitely double-check the packaging on all Peeps, even if the product is something that has stated "gluten-free" in the past.). The modified food starch used in the products is corn starch, according to the company. Just Born also makes Mike and Ike Candies.

Sweet’s Candy makes salt water taffy, chocolate jelly sticks, jelly beans, gummy bears and other candies. All are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. A customer service representative tells me that Sweet’s makes only gluten-free products, but does package other products (some of which may contain gluten) in the same facility.

As you’ve no doubt realized, some chocolate candies are gluten-free while others are not. My article Is Chocolate Gluten-Free? explains this confusing phenomenon. Still, if you’re in doubt about the gluten-free status of a product, contact the manufacturer’s customer service personnel directly at the numbers listed with each entry above.