Cornwall holiday cottages holywell bay, springtide f gas regulations


Springtide is wonderfully located right by the beach and sand dunes of Holywell Bay. It has a superb open plan lounge / dining room with two large sliding doors which open onto the sun deck to enhance some al fresco living, There is a master double bedroom and twin bedroom downstairs with a second twin bedroom up the steep spiral staircase which has some lovely views towards the sea.

Ground Floor: Kitchen area with fully fitted units, breakfast bar and seating area with a large SMEG fridge, corridor leads through to the double aspect, lounge / dining room with comfortable sofas, wood burning stove, TV and dining table. Further doors to; Master bedroom with 4’6" double bed and storage. Twin bedroom, divan beds with integral drawers, chest of drawers, wardrobe and window that opens into the kitchen seating area. Family shower room with WC and wash hand basin. There is an outside WC. A steep spiral staircase leads from the living room up to;

Heating is via night storage heaters and also the wood burning stove. gas and water company The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric oven & hob, kettle, toaster, there is also a boiling water tap, large SMEG fridge with spacious ice box, dishwasher, microwave, combined washing machine & tumble drier. The sitting room has a flatscreen, Freeview Smart TV & DVD player and PlayStations 4. There is an iron & ironing board available.

Electricity, heating, bed linen, towels are all included, you will need to bring your own beach towels. There are parking facilities for up to 2 – 3 vehicles. A maximum of 2 dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per week per dog. Dogs must not be left unattended at the property. We regret that no smoking is allowed. There is WiFi available at the property. There is a cot & high chair available.

Holywell Bay is a little village on the North coast between Perranporth and Newquay. It has a beautiful beach with fantastic sand dunes and a little stream for paddling for those daunted by the waves. electricity news philippines In the summer months the beach is patrolled by lifeguards and of course, surfing lessons are available for those keen on learning. gas works park seattle There is a small grocery shop 50m from Springtide which is open during the summer months and the St Piran Inn is 200m away where they serve a superb range of locally sourced, home cooked foods and award winning local beers.

These days Newquay’s excellent surfing waters are the towns main industry, where as it once used to be a major export port for the counties mining efforts as well as a north coast port for pilchard fisheries. Fistral Beach holds many surfing competitions throughout the year, and also hosts Run to the Sun over May Bank holiday, a VW and Custom Car Show. Both the Womens and Mens Gig Championships are held here, as well as a balloon festival and surf and lifesaving events. Newquay Zoo now houses 130 different species in sub tropical gardens in the centre of the town.

Neighbouring Watergate Bay and The Extreme Academy offers you a ‘ski resort on a beach’ and a plethora of activities to keep even the most active occupied. Fifteen Cornwall, founded by Jamie Oliver in 2002 sits on top of the two mile beach at Watergate offering inspirational views for the young chefs and professionals to create fantastic menus from local and seasonal produce. The Lappa Valley Steam Railway just outside Newquay offers both the old and young an interesting day out. Newquay Airport has made the north coast one of the easiest places in Cornwall to get to, with regular flights from various locations across the UK. The town also has an Aquarium, a Waterworld and numerous immensely pretty beaches for the less active. Trerice run by the National Trust is 3 miles outside of the town is an Elizabethan Manor House and Garden with restricted winter opening times.

Wow,this is such a beautiful place,we fell in love with it straight away! Lovely bungalow in a stunning location,all spotlessly clean,and with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday.We took our two dogs with us,and the garden was safe and fully enclosed for them,with a gate that led straight on to the sand dunes,where they could run like crazy down to the beautiful beach.The views from the bungalow are awesome,even when it was raining,which it sadly did rather a lot,but as we went in November,we weren’t expecting great weather.Brilliant heating system,the place was always warm and cosy,we certainly didn’t need or use the log burner,but it would be a nice,cosy addition if the weather was very cold.Kitchen was very well fitted,with quality appliances,and there were full instructions available for all of them.Holywell Bay is a dream destination for dog walkers,with the sand dunes,the magnificent beach,and the river running alongside,our Golden Retriever Savannah thought she was in Heaven!

The photos make this place look fab, but in our view, they are somewhat deceptive. The bungalow and garden are smaller than the photos make them appear, and the sand dunes are much larger than they look in the pictures. They are in fact HUGE, so people with mobility issues – beware. If you think it is easy access to the beach, you will be wrong. The back garden is elevated, with quite a few steps to negotiate down, which isn’t apparent from the photos and is not mentioned in the details. There is also a steep narrow drive down to the bungalow, which is not mentioned, and the road to the drive had a number of large potholes – apparently not the owner’s responsibility – but if it were my property and I was renting it out, I would want to get on to the people whose responsibility it is, and get it sorted. 1 unit electricity cost in kerala First impressions count!

After paying not far short of £1000 for a week, we did expect to find a welcome pack waiting for us – there wasn’t even a pint of milk in the fridge, and the local shop was closed the whole time we were there. There was no garden furniture, as displayed in the photos. This was provided upon request, but had been stored for the winter and in our view, needed a good clean. The grass was very long, and was not cut the whole time we were there, despite the weather being lovely. The property is dog friendly, and yet there was no outside light for night time trips to the garden. bp gas locations When I suggested this might be useful, the response was that it wasn’t needed because of the large patio doors – the inside lights were sufficient. Who wants to pull back all the blinds at two patio doors and put on very bright lights in the middle of night to check on their dogs outside??

There was an instruction book in the property, with details on how to use the appliances and a list of ‘do’s and donts’ – one of which was a ‘request’ to strip the beds at the end of our stay and put the dirty laundry in the shower, to assist the housekeeper. I felt a bit aggrieved about this as surely our £930 fee to stay should include the housekeeper’s charges for their time to do such jobs? However, I did do as asked, and was horrified to discover that when I removed the sheet on the mattress I had been sleeping on all week, the protector underneath it had a very large stain on it, which to me, looked like a urine stain! I was very upset by this, and left a note for the housekeeper to say that we would be complaining to the owner’s, which we did. We did not get a satisfactory response, and I can only assume that all knowledge of the stain was denied, as I was told I should have taken a photo, for proof! If they want guests to strip beds before leaving, then they should ensure that the mattress protector underneath is in a hygienic state! Reply from Angela Bates

Whilst this review is disappointing we are not surprised it is so negative as we did not agree with Ms. Richards that she was entitled to a refund after her holiday at Springtide. We dealt with the issues she raised direct with her prior to her submitting this review, which she withheld subject to making it clear that she expected financial recompense.

To address the main issues in her review I am not sure how the photos can be construed as deceptive by making things look smaller or larger than they actually are. If this were possible I would like to look taller and slimmer in all my photos !! Some of the sand dunes are big but you don’t actually have to go over them to access the beach. You can follow the path of the stream to the left of the dunes which meanders down to the sea. There is also a large expanse of relatively flat sand where families with small children play safely in the shallow stream. Personally I like to watch the children slide down the dunes on their sand trays, it looks like great fun and I’m hoping it will eventually make the sea view from Springtide bigger.

With regard to the stain on the mattress cover, the bed in question has been used twice both times by adults since all the protectors were replaced. The previous guest was contacted who confirmed that no stain was on the cover when she departed. mp electricity bill pay indore This guest is a frequent visitor to Springtide and a senior ward sister at a large Devon hospital where hygiene is of the utmost importance. Housekeeping made the bed ready for the next guest as normal without noticing the mysterious stain both prior to and after Ms. Richards stay. These covers are normally checked and washed accordingly at change over.

Many people who visit Holywell Bay return, it is a lovely location and the dunes are a designated area of special scientific interest. We are very proud of the standard of accommodation at Springtide and feel this is reflected in the reviews which other guests have posted. Despite being permitted to bring her 4 dogs to the premises and the lovely weather I find it very sad that this lady could find nothing positive about her stay.

Everything you need for a beautifully relaxing holiday. Spent the week there to celebrate a special birthday and couldn’t have chosen better, especially as this was our first trip to Cornwall and location was great for exploring the rest of the county. House is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. gasbuddy va It has everything you could possibly need, including washing machine, dishwasher and if you need it DVD player (and a selection of DVD’s), but to be honest the view is so amazing we spent most of our time on the decking or in the garden looking over the beach (some wonderful sunsets). As well as being perfect for the human occupants, the two dogs with us thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Between the garden (totally enclosed so safe to run around off lead) and the beach we had two very tired boxer dogs – something that is usually quite impossible to achieve!

Holywell Bay is amazing, two very nice pubs (that also do meals), sand dunes you can slide down (sledge provided) and a stream leading down to the sea, across the sandy beach, that was really popular with families as it’s very shallow and safe for kids to play in. Lovely walk also along the cliffs and beach to Perranporth for a refreshing drink at the beach bar before the return walk. Will definitely be returning.