Elderly and infirm beware – pensthorpe natural park, fakenham traveller reviews – tripadvisor bp gas station

###########

We enjoyed the wonderful scenery and bird life but found the walking areas and paths to be problematic. For anyone with a wheelchair the pathways are not conducive to gaining electricity bill nye access to various parts of this attraction. Their is a lot of walking involved and it would be better if more park benches were placed along the routes. We attended on a fine weather day but there are no places to find shelter to avoid a downpour or similar.

All in all we were not impressed by the staff, prices and perhaps we should have driven to the Wroxham Broadland or Filby broad to save our hard earned money and see… We enjoyed the wonderful scenery and bird life but found the walking areas and paths to be problematic. For anyone with a wheelchair the pathways are not conducive to gaining access to various parts of this attraction. Their is a lot of walking involved and it would be better if more park benches were placed along the routes. We attended on a fine weather day but there are no places to find shelter to avoid a downpour or similar. The entrance fees seemed excessive and therefore we as a family group with grandparents found the sum of almost £75.00 rather a bitter pill and therefore we shall not be returning. We also noted that several parts of the enclosures had what appeared to have sets of insulators through which silvered wire/string/cord was running and we presumed this was a form of electrified gas bijoux soho fencing but there was no signage.!! The gents toilets stank. The land rover and open type trailer covered in a much faded camouflaged paint seemed to be rather primitive and the tyres on the trailer had obviously seem better days. We noted that a massive new build of five cottages was being renovated for office usage and must assume this is where the entrance fee contributes? All in all we were not impressed by the staff, prices and perhaps we should have driven to the Wroxham Broadland or Filby broad to save our hard earned money and see nature for free. More Show less

Hi there. Many thanks for taking the trouble to provide feedback in respect of your recent visit to Pensthorpe Natural Park. We are very sorry to learn you did not enjoy your day and we are glad of the opportunity to address the various issues you have raised. It is indeed the case that not all 700 acres of the Estate are accessible to wheelchair users. This is because Pensthorpe is a large nature reserve and we choose to leave a good proportion of it in a natural gasbuddy trip condition for the benefit of wildlife. Further, we are a working farm and have a responsibility to ensure the safety of both our livestock and our visitors. Having said this, a large part of the reserve is wheelchair friendly, offering well maintained paths for users of wheelchairs and buggies alike. These paths lead the visitor into all three of our beautiful gardens, into various of the aviaries and wildlife display areas, into our play area and around the picnic site, main shopping and dining area as well as out to our Wader Scrape where we have a specially adapted hide. We provide numerous benches for visitors to sit on and enjoy the views and to rest, and we continually review the adequacy of these, adding additional or replacing existing seating annually. It is the case that there are few purpose-built shelters on the outer extremes of the reserve, however, the viewing hides can be used by visitors in these areas, should there be a downpour. Visitors closer to the main hub can, of course, retreat to the shop or café should the weather become inclement. You are correct in your observation that several of the enclosures on the reserve are protected by electric fencing. This is installed for the protection of our birds (i.e. to keep u gas hampton predators out) and is not switched on during park opening times, so there is never any risk at all of a visitor sustaining a shock and therefore, there is no need to put up advisory signs. We regularly review our prices to be sure they represent good value, whilst also making financial sense for us as a business. We often undertake comparisons of other local attractions and generally speaking, our admission price is extremely competitive. We recognise, of course, that gas examples we are not a free attraction, however, the offering provided here at Pensthorpe is broad and designed to appeal to all age ranges and a variety of interests. Further, 15% of all admissions is paid over to support the ongoing work of the Pensthorpe Conservation Trust, a registered charity based on the site which is involved in active species reintroductions (including Corncrakes, Red Squirrels, Eurasian Cranes and Turtle Doves) and also habitat restoration and creation. We can only apologise if you found the gentlemen’s toilets to be in an unsatisfactory condition. We will investigate this matter and make any necessary improvements immediately. We have checked the tyres of the land rover and trailer and can confirm that they are in an excellent condition. The trailer tyres have actually been replaced in the last month and therefore, have had very little wear. It may be the vehicle had recently returned from a tour when you saw it; at these times, the tyres can be muddy or dusty. The livery of the tour vehicle is currently being reviewed and we are planning to replace it in due course, however, we feel it is in a more than satisfactory condition and we ensure it is cleaned and maintained at all times. The park as a whole has seen much in the way of investment in the last few years. This investment has come from the owners themselves who have made a huge personal commitment to ensuring the future preservation of this beautiful site and the 30 staff employed permanently. The cost of developing the ‘five cottages’ has not been reflected at all in the park admission fee. In fact, unlike some other local attractions, we have not increased the cost of adult or senior admissions prices this year or membership since July 2013. It is disappointing to learn that you were not impressed by our staff, however, without more electricity review worksheet specific information we cannot respond to this comment. We do hope we have been able to address the various concerns you have raised in your feedback and we hope also we will see you here at Pensthorpe again in the future.