National mining hall of fame names 2016 inductees _ business wire

LEADVILLE, Colo.–( BUSINESS WIRE)– 2016 National Mining Hall of Fame Inductees – The National

Mining Hall of Fame and Museum (NMHFM) today announced the 2016 National

Mining Hall of Fame inductees. This year’s inductees, selected by the

National Mining Hall of Fame’s Board of Governors, represent exploration

and extraction, environmental stewardship, management, education, and

research and development in the U. S. mining industry. Their

contributions have had significant and lasting impacts on the mineral

and mining industry; these individuals were selected for being leaders,

innovators, authors, mentors, and philanthropists.

Stanley Dempsey, Haydn H. Murray, William N. Poundstone, and Robert S.

Shoemaker will join 232 other mining industry honorees when formally

inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame on Sept. 24, 2016. The 29


Annual Induction Banquet and Ceremony will be held at Caesars Palace in

Las Vegas, NV.

2016 National Mining Hall of Fame Inductees:

Stanley Dempsey – Stan Dempsey is one of the most

multi-faceted individuals in the mining community. As a geologist,

lawyer, historian, author, corporate executive, and investment banker he

put his skills to use championing collaborative approaches to

compliance, environmental assessment, and reclamation planning. He was

proactive in environmental protectionism. He had a prestigious career

with AMAX Inc. prior to building Royal Gold Inc. from the ground up,

transforming it from a struggling oil and gas company into a gold

royalty business worth $1.5 billion when he retired as Executive

Chairman in 2008. Dempsey has given generously of his time and is active

in trade, professional, civic, and environmental organizations. He has

been instrumental in the ongoing preservation of mining history as a

past chairman of the Board of Directors and a long time appointee of the

Board of Governors of The National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum.

Dr. Haydn H. Murray – Dr. Murray was an internationally

recognized expert on applied clay mineralogy. His research and

leadership in applied clay mineralogy resulted in four U. S. patents and

led to the development of innovative new kaolin products for paper

coating and filling, enhanced single coat coverage in paints, and

expanded uses for clays in ceramics, plastics, and other commercial

applications. As chief operating officer of Georgia Kaolin Company, he

expanded their interests to bentonite clay, sodium and calcium

bentonites, halloysite, and European kaolins through strategic

acquisitions and joint ventures. In academia, he created the first

program in applied clay science in the U. S. at Indiana University.

Murray’s book “Applied Clay Mineralogy” continues as a valued reference

for researchers, geologists, and mine operators.

William N. Poundstone – William Poundstone is recognized for his

contributions to the development of improved underground coal mining

technology. An inventor and problem solver, he received 34 patents

primarily for mining equipment and conveyors. He authored numerous

technical publications and was recognized for pioneering work in the

development of drilling techniques for coal seam degasification, mine

safety, and coalbed product. Poundstone served on numerous energy policy

committees and was of service in many national associations. He

concluded his career as Executive Vice President with Consol in 1982. He

endowed the William N. Poundstone Professorship in Mining Engineering at

West Virginia University. The William N. Poundstone Lecture Series

brings mining industry authorities to campus to share their expertise

with students and faculty.

Robert S. Shoemaker – Robert Shoemaker was one of the most

operations savvy engineers of his time. With a keen eye for detail, he

had an uncanny ability to spot the weak link in a design and a devotion

to the practical application of appropriate theory. Shoemaker has

numerous process designs to his credit but it was precious metal

extraction that really distinguished him from his peers. He was a leader

in the revolution in gold metallurgy in the late 1970’s, 80’s, and 90’s:

the three components of which included 1) the introduction of heap and

dump leaching on a large scale to treat low grade ores; 2) the

widespread adoption of carbon absorption systems for metal recovery from

cyanide solution; and 3) the development of methods to effectively

process refractory sulfidic ores including chlorination, roasting, and

pressure oxidation. Shoemaker had a huge impact not only in mineral

processing, but also in mentoring young people and seeing them advance

in their careers. He and his wife Jean pledged $1 million for Ph. D

grants in minerals education to the SME Foundation.

Commenting on this year’s inductees, NMHFM Board of Directors

Chairman Frank McAllister said, “Most understand America is blessed with

an abundance of mineable natural resources that sustain and advance our

comforts of life. But far too many do not appreciate the high caliber of

men and women it takes to make this possible. The National Mining Hall

of Fame’s mission is to honor the legacies of such individuals and is

delighted to add to its celebrated legacies: Stanley Dempsey, Dr. Haydn

H. Murray, William N. Poundstone, and Robert S. Shoemaker as its 2016


Full length biographies and photographs of all inductees can be accessed

on the NMHFM web site at www. mininghallofame. org

along with additional information about the museum and its facilities.